Marbled bundt cake.. revisiting childhood memories

I have always found marbled cakes quite fascinating. The mismatched swirls, the surprise of vanilla and chocolate in a bite of buttery goodness and most of all, the freedom to create swirls aimlessly with a skewer takes me back to childhood memories of having plain white sheet and lot of colorful crayons.

I was aching to try a marbled cake from quite sometime and the thought of inaugurating a brand new bundt pan only fueled the urge further. I followed Rachel Allen’s recipe for this cake and I must admit I have a huge girl crush on her. Her technique amazes me and I could watch her mix butter, sugar and eggs with a wooden spoon all day. Now, I sincerely wish I had that sort of upper body strength but my beater serves me well for now.

So here goes a really simple marbled cake that could be perfect company for your summer evenings complete with some really good coffee. But if you ask me, I am the kind of a person who would wake up in the middle of the night raiding the fridge for some sweet fix and gladly polish off slices of this cake with some ganache.

I love the light texture of this cake and I am sure the amount of butter that goes into it has a huge role to play in it.

Recipe (by Rachel Allen)

Ingredients:

Butter (softened)- 225 gms
Caster sugar – 225 gms / 1 1/2 cups
All purpose flour – 225 gms / 1 1/2 cups
2 teaspoons of baking powder
2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
50 gms of unsweetened cocoa powder
4 eggs (beaten)
Milk – 50 ml

Method:

Beat the softened butter and sugar till light and fluffy. Beat the eggs and add vanilla extract into the mixture. Add the egg mixture in small parts, gradually incorporating it into the butter and sugar. Sift the flour and baking powder into the wet ingredients. Add the milk and beat on low speed. Make sure not to over mix.

Now divide the batter into two equal parts and add the cocoa powder to one part. Add spoonfuls of both the batters alternating with vanilla and chocolate flavour in a round springform pan/bundt pan. Take a skewer and make swirls, completely letting your whim take over. Bake this for about 35-37 minutes (mine was done exactly in 36 mins).

Cool, demold and serve as is or with a generous drizzle of glossy chocolate ganache to take the lavishness to next level.

Leave a Reply

