Double chocolate muffins with a dollop of guilt

There’s nothing like too much butter. Someone please explain this to my mother who thinks I consume an amount which is meant for thousand people.While I won’t completely deny that, I cannot imagine the world without butter. What would happen to our ever delicious mash, pancakes, cakes, croissants, breads, tarts and everything else?

So this time round, just to prove a point to her, I decided to use olive oil for baking these muffins. I also used part all purpose flour and part whole wheat flour. And THEN, just to restore balance in the universe, I topped these muffins with big spoonfuls of shiny, glossy ganache. Yes.The original recipe also calls for ground flax seed for an extra healthy kick but I decided to reserve it for the next time I am going to bake these lovelies. I incorporated some chopped bittersweet Stella Chocolat Noir into the batter for bursts of gooeyness with every bite (sorry if I misled you by mentioning the word healthy earlier in the post).

You can enjoy them just like that or like me at 3AM with a glass of cranberry juice. Yes, I have extremely weird food pairing choices and an equally weird sleep cycle.

Recipe (adapted from here)

For the muffins:

1 cup of All purpose flour
1/2 cup of whole wheat flour
1/2 cup of cocoa powder (unsweetened, I used Cadbury Cocoa)
3/4th cup of caster sugar
1/2 tsp of salt
1 Large egg
1 tsp of baking soda
1 tsp of baking powder
1 tsp of vanilla extract
1/4th cup of olive oil
1 cup of milk
1/2 cup of chopped chocolate or chocolate chips

For the ganache:

Dark chocolate (Chopped-1 cup)
Cream (Half a tetrapack, I used Amul Cream)

Method:

Line muffin tray with paper cups and preheat oven for 10 minutes at 180 degree celsius.

Mix the dry ingredients (flour, baking soda, baking powder, cocoa powder and salt), make a well in the centre and add the wet ingredients (Egg, sugar, milk, oil, vanilla extract) and mix until the batter is uniform in texture. Add the chopped chocolate or chocolate chips and pour in the muffin cups filling about 3/4th of the cups.

Bake for about 18-20 minutes at 180 degree celsius or till a skewer inserted comes out clean.

For the ganache: Melt the chocolate in microwave (or double boiler) for about 40 seconds. Gradually add the cream into the molten hot chocolate mixture untill you have a glossy spreadable mixture.

Spoon over cooled muffins and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

