The making of red velvet.

What is it about red velvet cake that makes it so addictive? Could be the deep red color or its pairing with silky smooth cream cheese frosting. Whatever it is that makes it so irresistible, I must admit I LOVE red velvet.

Infact, I am a huge fan of any cake that calls for buttermilk. It lends such a beautiful texture to any cake that makes it absolutely impossible to resist.

So on a beautiful cloudy friday morning, I began craving for this and my friend immediately said, “Let’s bake it!”. Things like these make me grin like a 2 year old.

While she did all the baking, I took over the exciting part of taking step by step photos. We made 12 cupcakes and a small cake with this recipe.

The first batch of cupcakes disappeared almost as soon as they came out of the oven. (We call it analysing!)

PS: Not a fan of artificial coloring so I have every intention of using beetroot the next time I bake these.

Recipe (From here)

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons cocoa
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter softened
1-1/2 cups granulated sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
2 eggs
1 tablespoon Red food color
1 cup buttermilk (see process below)
1-1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 tablespoons white vinegar
Cream Cheese Frosting

To make the buttermilk, take 1 teaspoon of vinegar, add into cold milk and keep aside.

Now the dry ingredients. First measure out the flour.

Measure the cocoa, salt, baking soda and add into the flour.

Keep the bowl with the dry ingredients aside and start working with the wet ingredients.

Beat the butter and sugar until the mixture is pale.

Beat the butter and sugar for good 5-7 minutes before adding the eggs one after another.

Beat the eggs, butter and sugar until you get a smooth mixture.

Add the vanilla essence at this point.

Now add the buttermilk, red food color, incorporate all the dry ingredients and beat well. Et voila! the batter is ready to go into the oven.

Bake these beauties at 180 degree celsius for about 15 minutes or till done. Eat them right when they’re out from the oven or be patient and wait for them to cool completely. Top generously with cream cheese frosting and munch away.

This is the how the cupcakes looked after they were done and frosted (ignore my bad piping skills, I don’t do that too often)

8 thoughts on “The making of red velvet.

  1. The recipe is mouth watering, I have tried the 1 min cake that you recently posted! It came out awesome πŸ™‚ Thanks!
    My husband loved it.

    I wanted to try the above too, but I don't have a oven, can I try the same in a microwave? If yes – then how much time do I need to bake it for?

    P.S – I have convention mode in my microwave

    Like

  2. Hi Sanghita! So happy the cake turned out well πŸ™‚

    If you have convection mode in your oven, you can absolutely bake these at 180 degrees for about 15-18 minutes like I mentioned in the post. I use a convection mode oven too πŸ™‚ Hope that helps!

    Like

Leave a Reply

