Chocolate chip blondies

I find myself feeling lost for words when someone asks me to describe a blondie. “It is a brownie but without cocoa in it” or “It is just like brownie in texture but ahem.. blonde?” are my general responses.

Nevertheless, I LOVE blondies. Especially this version that has chocolate chips in it.

Meet me post midnight and you will find me tucking into these delicious things with vanilla icecream and a generous sprinkle of almond slivers.

I don’t think I can call that a snack. A dessert meal, maybe?

I changed the original recipe a bit because I did not have light brown sugar. The result was a bunch of massively crispy chewy blondie goodness.

I have every intention of experimenting with these blondies. Something on the lines of raspberries or white chocolate chips or cranberries.

Here’s the recipe (adapted from My Baking addiction’s recipe)

Ingredients:

1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup unsalted butter, melted
1/2 cup dark brown sugar
1/2 cup regular sugar
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
1 cup chocolate chips/ chopped dark chocolate

Method:

Combine the dry ingredients in a bowl (Flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda) and keep aside. Mix the brown sugar, regular sugar and melted butter in a bowl and gradually add the egg and vanilla essence. Mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients gradually until well combined. Mix in the chocolate chips.

Pour the batter in a square baking tin lined with parchment paper and bake for about 25-30 minutes at 180 degree celsius or until a skewer comes out clean from the centre.

Slice into squares and serve with chocolate ganache or icecream.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate chip blondies

Leave a Reply

