Lemon olive oil loaf cake

I thought a lot about what to do with these beautiful Italian lemons that I found in a gourmet store. I thought for a week.

Then one day I decided to use just the rind to flavour a batch of vanilla cupcakes. I was overwhelmed with the entire house smelling of this lemon rind. JUST the rind.

But I needed to do a full blown lemon based cake. Something that screamed lemon with every bite. Then I found this recipe and decided to give it a shot.

It has a beautiful crusty outer and moist crumb and from what I noticed, tastes BEST when eaten on the day of baking, more like, right after it comes out of the oven.

I baked this for my aunt (a mindblowinglyfantastic cook and baker herself) who is visiting us this month and giving us food comas day after day with her endless list of Indian and continental specialties. Well, that’s a story for another time.

You can make a beautiful lemon glaze to top this loaf cake if you want. My family likes cakes without any OTTness.

Recipe (slightly tweaked from Gourmet Traveller)

300 gms of Caster Sugar
3 eggs
250 ml of milk
250 ml of Extra Virgin Olive Oil (I used Delmonte brand)
Juice and grated rind of 2 large Italian lemons
300 gms of plain flour
1 tbsp of baking powder

Line a loaf pan with parchment paper and preheat oven at 180 degree celsius for about 10 minutes. Whisk sugar and eggs with a pinch of salt till pale yellow for about 3-4 minutes. Combine the milk, lemon juice, rind and olive oil in a jar. Now add this mixture to the egg mixture and slowly fold in the flour and baking powder until well combined and the batter becomes smooth. Add the batter to the lined loaf pan and bake for about 55-60 minutes or till a crusty top is achieved and toothpick comes out clean from the center of the cake.

2 thoughts on “Lemon olive oil loaf cake

  1. Thankyou for visitng my place and you are always welcome to take the crockery 🙂 i think my hubby will be happy as he says i just make into a big heap all my props . Wish i had a aunty who came and stayed and made delicious food. The cake looks so yumm. I love cakes like this they are one of my fav as pit reminds me of home and mom.

    Like

Leave a Reply

