Banana walnut bread

There’s nothing that a slice of banana bread can’t fix. Actually, that holds good for ANY banana based dessert. I heart them.

I remember this one particular day after work when I was hit by a torrential banoffee pie craving. It was really late in the night and the restaurant was about to close but they were oh-so-very-kind to accommodate my request. Needless to say, I was a happy soul. And blessed the chef with all my heart.

Coming back to banana bread, it is my all time cheer up food. I bake banana bread to bring back the Garfield Friday grin on my face. Mashed bananas, crunchy walnuts, these are things happy days are made of.

What I love about this recipe is the fabulous, brown, crusty outer. I folded chopped walnuts into the batter and topped it with a generous sprinkling of slivered almonds right before it went into the oven.

Now you can accuse me of overloading on the nuts, but hey! the more the merrier. Didn’t I say it is supposed to cheer you up?!

You can sexify this banana bread with dark chocolate chips, white chocolate chips, hazelnuts or a dash of bourbon.. too many possibilities.

Recipe (from Joy of baking)

Ingredients:

230 gms of All purpose flour
150 gms of sugar
113 gms of unsalted butter (melted)
2 large eggs
3-4 very ripe bananas
1 teaspoon of baking powder
1/4 teaspoon of baking soda
1/4 teaspoon of salt
1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon (add more if you like cinnamon, I am not a huge fan)
vanilla essence
chopped walnuts (optional)
slivered almonds (optional)

Method:

In a bowl, mix the dry ingredients and add the chopped walnuts. In another bowl, lightly beat the eggs, add vanilla and the melted butter and mix well.

Slowly fold in the wet ingredients into the dry until the flour is completely mixed. Do not overmix the batter. Bake in loaf pan for about 45-47 minutes at 180 degree celsius or until the crust has browned and a toothpic comes out clean. Slice and enjoy with a mug of good hot chocolate.

PS 1: Showing off some recently acquired sexy crockery. Cannot stop obsessing over them.

PS 2: This cake tastes best after 1 or 2 days of resting. No, not asking you to wait until then.

One thought on “Banana walnut bread

Leave a Reply

