One minute microwave chocolate chunk cake

Maybe I am ridiculously late to the party but these mug cakes that get done in a jiffy (literally) are probably the greatest discovery in the history of mankind.

You know, those giant cake moments when we cannot be bothered for butter and eggs to come to room temperature, launch our beating bandwagon and be elaborate. In times like those, this recipe works like magic. Mix ingredients, microwave and gobble with some ice cream. Just don’t be caught while doing so.

Note: This cake is dangerously addictive. Don’t tell me I didn’t warn you.

Who can screw up an easy peasy cake like this? Me me me! I made it thrice till I got the microwave timing right. My parents think I am a mad person for making an instant cake thrice in a span of two days.

So please resist the temptation of overcooking this cake. We want a moist cake, not a hard rock weapon of mass destruction.

Be watchful as the cake rises, switch off the microwave and let it cool completely. This recipe makes one bowl or a medium sized coffee mug but you can easily double it up to make it a cosy rainy day dessert for two.

Recipe (From here, with minor tweaks)

Ingredients:

4 tablespoons of all purpose flour

4 tablespoons of caster sugar
2 tablespoons of cocoa (unsweetened, I used Cadbury cocoa powder)
1 egg
3 tablespoons of milk
3 tablespoons of vegetable oil
1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon of baking powder
Dark chocolate chunks (optional)

Method:

Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl, crack the egg, add the oil, milk, chocolate chunks (if using) and mix well. Pour the batter into a bowl/coffee mug and microwave for a minute. Be careful as to not overcook. The cake will rise a little in the bowl. Mine took about 1 minute and 30 seconds to be exact.

Let the cake cool completely. Drizzle with chocolate sauce/Nutella/ganache or sprinkle with icing sugar and serve with berries. Maybe even a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

Now please excuse me while I enjoy the rain and devour these beauties.

Note: This cake can be refrigerated and it stays perfectly moist even the next day.

Update: I added a tablespoon of chunky peanut butter and some dark chocolate chips into the batter and it was quite mind blowing for an instant cake, if I may say so myself.

Leave a Reply

