White chocolate cake with lemon glaze

I was never a fan of white chocolate. Mostly because it reminded me of Milkybar, which was a huge thing in my growing up years and I hated it. It was almost always too sweet for my liking and had a really flat, flavourless taste that never appealed to me.

Cut to a decade later when I found quite a few interesting white chocolate based recipes. These are all over my emails and bookmarks now but I never thought of giving any of them a shot until I found this one.

Now lemon and white chocolate can sound a bit insane but trust me, fresh zest of lemon gives a lovely contrast to the sweetness of white chocolate. I would say this cake is a close relative of a blondie, just more cakey than fudgy in texture and the lemon glaze might seem in-your-face tart but it is just enough to balance the buttery sweetness of the cake.

You will fall in love. I promise.

It makes for a fabulous tea time cake. And you can go for a second helping later in the night, when no one is watching. Oh yes, certainly.

Note: Buy nice plump Italian lemons for this recipe, if you can find them. The aromatic zest from the Italian lemons will lift this recipe to another level. And use good quality white chocolate.

Recipe (by David Lebovitz)

For the cake:

150 gms of unsalted butter
170 gms of white chocolate (chopped)
150 gms of caster sugar
150 gms of flour
2 eggs
Zest of one large lemon
A pinch of salt

For the lemon glaze:

2 tbsps of lemon juice
3-4 tbsps of icing sugar

Chop the white chocolate and butter into small pieces and melt over a pan of simmering water along with grated lemon zest and salt. Let the chocolate and butter melt completely, take off the heat and let the mixture cool.

In a separate bowl, whisk the eggs and sugar lightly and add the cooled chocolate mixture gradually whisking with every addition. Now slowly incorporate the flour until completely mixed with no visible bits of flour. Do not overmix the batter. Pour this into a parchment lined square baking tray and bake in 190 degree celsius preheated oven for 32-35 minutes or until a knife comes out clean from the center of the cake.

To make the glaze, mix the lemon juice and icing sugar. Adjust the sugar according to your liking.

Let the cake cool completely (I am zero in this department and turn into a zombie as soon as cake comes out of the oven, please avoid behaving like me). Slice into squares. Drizzle the glaze on top and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

