Coconut white chocolate tartlets with cherries

Have you met a person who buys a box of cherries because they are photogenic?! Well, hello, very nice to meet you.

So along with buying cherries on a complete whim, I had to use up white chocolate and giant pack of dessicated cocount that has sat in my fridge for as long as I can remember. I am honestly getting a bit amazed by my hoarding skills. But hey! TARTLETS!

I can never express my love for coconut enough. The whiff of dessicated coconut takes me back to childhood scenes of grandmother sitting on the floor and churning out heaps of freshly grated coconut used for making traditional sweets later.

I found the recipe of the tart base in one of my favourite food photographer’s blog Journey Kitchen and it seemed perfect because it’s gluten free and used all of my pantry leftovers nicely. I made a quick white chocolate ganache filling and topped the tartlets with the gorgeous blood red cherries.

Hip party dessert – check!

for the base (makes 4 individual tartlets)

150 gms of almond meal
75gms of coconut (freshly grated or dessicated dry)
2 tbsps of maple syrup
1 1/2 tbsps of ghee (clarified butter)

for the white chocolate ganache 

120 gms of white chocolate
75ml of fresh cream

Method:

For the base, mix all ingredients and add chilled water to bring the dough together. Chill the dough for half an hour before rolling out and filling tart tins. Cool the tart tins for 10-15 mins before baking. Blind bake the shells for about 20 mins at 180 degrees.

For the ganache, melt the white chocolate in microwave. Once melted and glossy, add the cream to the chocolate stirring continuously. Add more cream if you need a thinner ganache for filling.

Spoon ganache mixture into baked tart shells, top with fresh cherries and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

