Apple cherry cake with salted caramel sauce

Rains, coffee, warm cake with apples, the smell of cinnamon.. AH! I could sit by my window watching the pitter patter of raindrops all day. Maybe a chick flick under the blanket? Yes, I know I am overdoing the wishful thinking bit here but what is life without a hell lot of daydreaming!

As for this cake, I wanted to make something with apples. And I was trying to put this batter together after an intense game of badminton so I really had no inclination to cream the butter and sugar.

So I went the grandmother way and made a well inside the dry ingredients and just mixed everything together with my beater (this is how the baking mess looked, in case you’re interested)

Easy peasy!

The original recipe called for blueberries but I added cherries because I am going crazy with them. I also made a beautiful salted caramel sauce to drizzle on this cake. Can’t get any better!

Apple and cherry cake (inspired by this recipe)

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
3/4 cups caster sugar
125 gms soft unsalted butter
2 eggs
1/2 cup of milk
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp cinnamon powder
1 tsp baking powder
1 apple, thinly sliced
Handful of pitted cherries

Salted caramel sauce recipe from here.

Method:

In a large mixing bowl, combine flour, sugar, cinnamon and baking powder. Make a well and break in the eggs, softened butter, vanilla and milk. Beat on low speed for 1-2 minutes and transfer into the pan. Top the batter with sliced apples and cherries. Sprinkle demarara sugar on top of the apples and bake for about 40-50 mins at 180 degrees or until toothpick comes out clean from the centre of the cake.

Drizzle with salted caramel sauce and serve with fresh cherries.

Leave a Reply

