Healthy wholewheat chocolate banana oat muffins with hazelnuts (and chocolate chips)

Yes, that’s a rather long title. I swear I wanted to shorten it but I really put ALL that in the muffin. I can be crazy like that.

I’ve been craving brownie all this week but running out of unsalted butter has turned out to be rather good for my creativity (and health). I’ve practically put everything I found in my pantry in this muffin. Oh did I tell you there is no butter or sugar in this recipe? and it has olive oil? This is the closest I could get to making guilt free, nourishing and power packed breakfast muffins.

These muffins are quite dense and very mildly sweet because of the honey but extremely wholesome. I love how the chopped hazelnuts add a nutty twist to it.

The only change I would make to this recipe is to have a mix of wholewheat and all purpose flour(1/2cp:1cp). Don’t worry about the long list of ingredients, that’s just me throwing in a bit of everything. This is one of the quickest batters to put together.

You can make the muffins a night before and serve for breakfast. I love heating these so the chocolate chips melt inside. Ahhhhhhhhhhhh!

So grab that mug of coffee and gobble away these nutritious muffins without the anxiety of making your waistline sob uncontrollably.

Recipe inspiration from here.

Ingredients:

1 cup of all purpose flour
1/2 cup of wholewheat flour
1/2 cup of cooking oats
2 tsp of baking powder
1 tsp of baking soda
a pinch of salt
1/4th tsp cinnamon powder
2-3 tsps cocoa powder
1 large egg
1/3 cup of olive oil
3 mashed bananas
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup honey
1/2 tsp of vanilla extract
chocolate chips (optional)
chopped hazelnuts for topping (optional)

Method:

Mix the flours, oats, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and chocolate chips (if using) in a mixing bowl and keep aside. Now in a bowl, mash bananas with a fork, add milk, honey, egg and olive oil and mix well.

Now take the dry ingredients and make a well in the center, add the wet ingredients and fold gently with a rubber spatula until all traces of flour has disappeared. Using an ice cream scoop, fill the batter in muffin liners about 3/4th full. Top each with chopped hazelnuts.

Bake for 17-19 minutes at 200 degree celsius or until toothpick from the center of muffins come out clean.

One thought on “Healthy wholewheat chocolate banana oat muffins with hazelnuts (and chocolate chips)

Leave a Reply

