Mum’s caramel pudding

There’s no better time than holidays to pester mother for her signature recipes. This caramel pudding is one of my absolute childhood favorites. Something my mother made for years on every special occasion. So this time around I just stood beside her with my notebook even though she said firmly,”you know I am an instinctive cook, I don’t measure things”

Of course I managed to coax her into giving me measurements and now I have my favourite dessert recipe of hers in my kitty. YAY!

Ingredients:

1/2 litre full fat milk
2 medium eggs
1 slice of bread (crumbled)
100 gms of sugar (some more for caramelization)
1 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract
3-4 pods of cardamom

Method:

Bring milk to a boil for 5-10 minutes. Crumble the bread into the milk, add sugar and break in the eggs (I freaked at this point because I thought eggs would cook but my mother assured me they won’t). Let the custard cool for at least 30 minutes.

Sprinkle sugar at the bottom of the container you are using and caramelize the sugar until amber in color. Remove container from heat and let it set for a couple of minutes. Once the caramel is set, add the custard mixture in.

In a deep bottom vessel, fill it with water up to an inch and carefully put the pudding container in. Steam the pudding for about 55-60 minutes until the centre is set and a bit wobbly (you might have to check it from time to time).

Remove and freeze overnight before flipping over and serve!

Leave a Reply

