Strawberry Jam

Can you believe how simple it is to make your own bottle of jam? Cook fruit of choice with sugar, lounge around for 20 minutes while it simmers away and makes your house smell like a strawberry farm. Really, nothing more than that.Ah, I love making jams.

I wish I could say the same for making bread. That is one baking phobia I am yet to conquer.

I will be a happy soul the day I eat homemade bread and jam for breakfast. There’s scope of a potential new year resolution there, don’t you think?

I have expressed my fondness for strawberries before. I am just obsessed. We have a lady coming to our house early in the morning with boxes of strawberries and even in my deepest of sleepiness, I wont miss buying them.

Little confession – I once wanted to make strawberry crumble but ended up marinating the strawberries in vanilla extract and sugar, threw in bits of cake, a spoonful of Nutella topped with some cream in a bowl and ate the WHOLE damn thing.

So here’s the recipe for the jam. Make it and watch yourself brimming with childlike pride while spreading it on toast.

Ingredients:

1 cup strawberries (hulled and chopped)
1 cup of sugar
1/2 tsp of vanilla essence

Method:

Add the berries, sugar and vanilla in a pan and cook on low flame for 20-30 minutes stirring occasionally until it is thick and coats the back of a wooden spoon.

Let it cool and transfer into jars.

Leave a Reply

